Tootsie pops

7 05 2009

From Jillian Hollis

I picked this ad because a few days ago my roommate and I were eating tootsiepops, which for us was pretty random. A few minutes in I had already started chewing on mine, so I stopped and looked at her and said, “Kristin, hoowww man licks dooess it take to get to the center of a tootsiepop?!” and she said “Lets find out!” She ended up chewing her lolipop too, soo the world may never know, but even after all this time I could still remember that commercial. There is nothing particularly eye catching, and the animation isn’t very good, but for some reason it has always been one of my favorite.

Actions

Information

4 responses

12 05 2009
Kathleen Latiolait

I think what makes this commercial so great that it resonates with almost anyone who sees it. Even for someone who may not have known that the commercial first aired in our parents’ generation, it is so unique from anything else airing now that you cannot help but be interested to see what it is about. Seeing this ad again is making me wonder when we will again see the wise owl count how many licks it takes to get to the center of a tootsie pop.

12 05 2009
Courtney Doss

Wow! I had forgotten about these commercials! They are so funny because everyone tries (and usually fails) to find out how many licks it actually takes to get to the center. This commercial connected to young kids and offered them a challenge. Everyone likes a challenge or a feeling of ah-ha I did it!

11 05 2009
Kelsey Brassil

I think it is amazing how popular this commercial became as well. It is definitely not the most technologically advanced or stand out commercial, but it is one that everyone knows. It became one of the common phrases that people can associate with Tootsie Pops and, as far as I know, it all stemmed from this small, low budget, short commercial. It is interesting to me how some small commercial like this can have such a huge impact on a brand name.

9 05 2009
Veronica Day

I think this commercial holds nostalgia for many people, including myself. I remember sitting down in front of the TV when this commercial came on, and my parents telling me that this exact commercial was aired when they were younger too. The Tootsie Roll company is taking the approach of using brand image to sell Tootsie Roll pops. People young and old alike are familiar with this commercial and it instantly comes to mind when you think about Tootsie Roll Pops.

Leave a Reply

