Make ’em laugh

9 04 2009

From Colin Lassiter
There are many television beer commercials that make people laugh.  However, I did not choose this advertisement because it was a beer commercial, or because it instantly made me laugh.  I decided it would serve as a good addition to the class blog because it displayed the ability for a traditionally male oriented product to relate with both sexes.  The woman are shown appreciating a product, “shoes” in a fanatical way only to find themselves suddenly understanding why men might become so thrilled at the sight of beer.  It was a creative way to display this contrast in preferences between males and females.  I thoroughly enjoyed it and thought others might as well.

Actions

Information

3 responses

19 04 2009
Shawna Haynes

This is probably up there in my top 3 favorite commercials ever. I could watch it over and over. I love how they use the men/women differences, because everyone knows that women love shoes and clothes and can only dream of a closet like that and men on the other hand could care less about high heels and a big closet and their dream come true would be that giant fridge-room full of beer! To me, it is a very creative ad. that I think everyone can relate to.

14 04 2009
profsheehan

Kelsey Brassil says:
I thought this was a very creative ad. The message that I got from it was that men get just as excited about a room full of Heineken, as women to about shoes. So since shoes are something that everyone knows most women LOVE, then it would lead you to believe that every man should get the same feeling about Heineken, and thus want to buy their beer. It was definitely humorous which is another way to catch people’s attention!

13 04 2009
Courtney Ludwig

So, this is the first time I have ever seen this ad and I think it is brilliant. It definitely made me laugh, but it also makes you think about how true the statement they are making is. It does a great job of incorporating the females object of obsession with that of the males. I also like how the commercial starts off without even letting you know it is a beer ad, but uses humor to make it apparent in the end. Overall, I think this is a great ad and even better because it made me laugh!

Leave a Reply

