Gangsta Ad

9 04 2009

From Holly Bates

This commercial was extremely suprising to me. I’m suprised that it hasen’t been banned. G-Unit is a brand that sells a culture, a lifestyle to their target audience. The brand doesn’t only represent the rap group, it sells toughness, anger, gangs, ruthlessness, fearlessness, money, and an attitude. I’m shocked that they can say “I’ll shoot you, I’ll stap you, I’ll kill you, or maybe you’ll just disappear” with a chuckle. Gangster rap is popular among young males and this specific commercial is selling a video game but it represents a lot more than that. So by supporting their video games and clothing, are you in a sense, supporting the messages that they are conveying? I hope not.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

